In Pictures

Commencement Recognition Celebration, Boston 

Simmons hosted the annual Commencement Recognition Celebration on May 16. Honored guests included the 2019 Commencement speakers and honorary degree recipients (see related item on page 19). The evening also recognized alumnae/i and friends who are among the most generous supporters of the University. And President Drinan announced winners of the President’s Recognition Award which helps reduce recipients’ student-loan debt.

Photographs, from left:  1. Trustee William M. Bellamy (Commencement speaker and honorary degree recipient), Sarah-Ann Shaw (honorary degree recipient), Madonna Thunder Hawk (honorary degree recipient), Trustee Tiffany Dufu (Commencement speaker; see profile on page 16) and Hafsat Abiola-Costello (Commencement speaker and honorary degree recipient).  2.Associate Provost and Dean of the Undergraduate Program Catherine Paden with Provost and Senior Vice President Katie Conboy.  3. President Drinan with this year’s recipients of the President’s Recognition Award.  4. Richard D’Amore and Trustee Jennifer Eckert ’08MSW.  5. Dean Brian Norman of The Ifill College of Media, Arts, and Humanities with honorary degree recipient Sarah-Ann Shaw. Photographs: Cheryl Richards

Dinner and conversation with Dean Marie desJardins, Washington, D.C. 

Dean Marie desJardins of the College of Organizational, Computational, and Information Sciences was the featured guest at an intimate dinner on June 20 hosted by Trustee Emerita Anne L. Bryant ’71 at a Washington restaurant. 

Photograph, from left:  Patti O’Neil of the Office of Advancement and Alumnae/i Relations, Maryanne Jones ’61, Claire Rubin ’61, host Trustee Emerita Anne L. Bryant ’71, Dean Marie desJardins and Sanda Erdelez, director of the School of Library and Information Science. Photograph: Jennifer Rice

Welcome Reception for Dean Stephanie Berzin, Boston

Dean Stephanie Berzin of the College of Social Sciences, Policy, and Practice was the guest of honor at a reception on June 6 at the home of Jennifer Kane Coplon ’67, ’69MSW. Guests included Simmons alumnae and faculty.

Photograph, from left:  Host Jennifer Kane Coplon ’67, ’69MSW; Dean Stephanie Berzin; Trustee Jennifer Eckert ’08MSW; Victoria L. Danberg ’68, ’88MBA and Deborah L. Lebl ’05.